Position 78, page 149
From Backgammon for Blood, by Bruce Becker

Should White
double to 2?

I would quickly evaluate this as my being two throws better than Black, and so I would throw the cube at him. I figure it thus: on the lower half of my inner board — the 1, 2, and 3 points — I have four men more than he. But this isn’t as important as the upper half — the 4, 5, and 6 points. Here I have at least a one-throw advantage as far as the 4 point is concerned, we are equal on the 5, and I have a half throw advantage on the 6 point. This, combined with the strength I show on the 1 and 2 points, would prompt me to throw the cube, especially when I take into consideration the fact that I have the dice (otherwise I could not offer the cube) and so, after my throw, I should be three throws ahead!

If he takes it, he’s a fool; I wouldn’t take it if the positions were reversed. My rule here is that I double when I’m two throws ahead.

XG logo
Tom Keith 2013 
Money play
Centered cube
White on roll

1296 games with VR
Checker play: 3-ply
Cube play: XG Roller

Cube Action Game BG   Equity
No double W
+0.8969 (0.1031) 
Double Take W
+1.1108 +1.0000 x  *
Drop +1.0000

  White should double and Black should pass  

Previous Position
No. 77b, page 146
Next Position
No. 79, page 150

List of Positions from Backgammon for Blood

Backgammon for Blood (1974), by Bruce Becker

Backgammon Galore : Books