Forum Archive :
This actually happend on the club tournament yseterday:
Player A leads 6-2 Crawford against Player B. Player B forgets that it is
the Crawford game and doubles. Player A also forgets that it is the
Crawford game and drops! They set up the initial position again, and start
a new game. Then the mistake comes clear to them. (Of course they don't
remember the position.) What now?
More hypotetical: What if a watcher where watching the game, and saw that
player B doubled? What should he do? Should he keep his big mouth shut, or
should he point out the mistake and interfere with the match?
BTW: It's clear that it wasn't player B's intention to cheat. He is just
an inexperienced player that forgot.
Ian Shaw writes:
Once you've started a new game, I think the score is deemed to be checked
and agreed by both players. I think you have to carry on at 6-3 to A. B
might offer to replay at 6-2 but I don't think the TD can enforce that.
I don't think a spectator can interfere directly in the cube actions.
Řystein Johansen writes:
What about the next game then? Should that be played with the Crawford
rule? Or is the Crawford game considered over, and player B may double at
the first opportunity?
Gregg Cattanach writes:
I would think the Crawford game has expired at this point. The real
problem was that both players terminated the game and so it couldn't be
completed. I can't see any other solution that to continue the match from
the 6-3 score.
Neil Kazaross writes:
I'm unsure what the specific rule is for this situation, but a long time
director told me 20 years ago when something like this was discussed, that
"the cube is out of play in the Crawford game, period!" He also stressed
that it was the responsibility of both players not to double and that, if
one did cube, any ruling(s) would likely be made against him after the
Based on this discussion and my personal feelings that the one who cubes
here is the one who initiates a possible problem and is perhaps taking
advantage of his opponent, I would rule the game null and void and play
would continue at crawford from 6-2.
If it had come up, I probably would have let the match continue from 6-3,
but wouldn't have liked it and would have said something to the players. I
like your ruling, Neil, especially if the error is caught before the next
game starts. I'm not sure what the precedent might be, though.
Sam Pottle writes:
I don't think the possibility of the leader angling when doubled at
Crawford is a big defect in the rules.
This issue was discussed quite a bit at the Vegas tournament last month.
One suggestion went like this: if the trailer doubles at Crawford, and the
leader calls him on it, then the double is canceled, the game continues,
and the trailer is not allowed to double in the following game. If the
leader acts on the cube, the action stands. This prevents angling by the
trailer, except at 2-away Crawford.
- Checker knocked off bar (Chuck Bower+, Sept 2003)
- Clock rules and gin positions (Chris Yep+, Dec 2007)
- Clock rules end of turn (Jason Lee+, Dec 2007)
- Cocked dice (Rodney Lighton+, July 2012)
- Cocked dice (Ed Rosenblum+, Dec 2009)
- Cocked dice (Chuck Bower+, July 2003)
- Cocked die on first roll (Cloyd Laporte+, Nov 2006)
- Crawford game double (Øystein Johansen+, June 2004)
- Crawford game double (Joe+, May 2004)
- Crawford game double (Raccoon+, Sept 2003)
- Crawford game double (Claes Thornberg+, Apr 1998)
- Dice sliding (Chris Yep+, Dec 2007)
- Disagreement on final cube (Chuck Bower+, May 2004)
- Disagreement over cocked dice (DeaconBlue+, May 2005)
- Disputed roll (Roland Scheicher+, Mar 2004)
- Disputed roll (Chuck Bower+, Mar 2000)
- Doubling to wrong value (Stein Kulseth+, Nov 1998)
- Equipment changes (Jason Lee+, Feb 2004)
- Error in setup (Stick+, Dec 2007)
- Incorrect setup (Ken+, Mar 2004)
- Kibitzing (Ilia Guzei+, Feb 2006)
- Misplaced cube (Ned Cross+, Mar 2004)
- Misplacing a checker off the board (Sam Pottle+, Apr 2006)
- Misplacing a checker on the bar (Jeb Horton, Dec 2002)
- Moving checkers before you roll (Gregg Cattanach+, Mar 2006)
- Moving with two hands (Jason Lee+, Jan 2011)
- Opening roll loser picks up his die (Chuck Bower+, Oct 2007)
- Playing to wrong match length (Klaus Evers+, Jan 2006)
- Playing to wrong match length (Marty Storer+, Mar 2005)
- Playing to wrong match length (Steve Mellen, Feb 1998)
- Playing wrong opponent (Hank Youngerman+, Oct 2005)
- Premature actions (Raccoon+, Feb 2008)
- Premature roll (Chris Yep+, Dec 2007)
- Repositioning dice without notice (Chuck Bower+, Oct 2007)
- Rerolling cocked dice too quickly (Raccoon+, Nov 2006)
- Rolling 2 dice instead of 1 to start (Bob Koca+, Oct 2007)
- Rolling when opponent is closed out (Raccoon+, Nov 2006)
- Rolling wrong dice (TarHeelFan+, Sept 2005)
- Taking photos of positions (Stick+, Dec 2007)
- Touching the doubling cube (Ken Bame+, Nov 2006)
- Touching the doubling cube (Chuck Bower+, Apr 1998)
- Two cubes on the board (Jason Lee+, July 2005)
- Video dispute resolution (Jason Lee+, Feb 2006)
- When are the dice "up"? (Ilia Guzei+, Feb 2006)
- Writing down positions (Klaus Evers+, Jan 2006)